The French National Archives have been located since 1808 at the Hôtel de Soubise, a former princely palace and the starting point for the institution’s expansion across the Marais: the Quadrilateral des Archives. With the exception of the archives and the reception and research center built in the 19th and 20th centuries, this unique heritage complex is made up of residences from the Ancien Régime acquired gradually to meet the needs of the State, thus completing the Hôtel de Soubise: the Hôtel d’Assy in 1842, the Hôtel de Fontenay in 1949, the Hôtel de Jaucourt in 1962 and the Hôtel de Rohan, the former palace of the Cardinals of Rohan built in the 18th century and assigned to the National Archives in1928, after having been used for 120 years by the National Printing Office.
Since 2011, the Ministry of Culture and the National Archives have embarked on an ambitious project to rehabilitate the Hôtel de Rohan, ultimately allowing the return to the public of an exceptional set of interior decorations from the Louis XV period. In addition to the princely salons of the Hôtel de Soubise, the most outstanding example of Rococo-style décor today in France, the sumptuous salons of the Hôtel de Rohan, which have been closed for twenty years, will soon be fully restored in order to welcome the public.
Restoration of the Cabinet des Singes by Huet in the 18th-century Hôtel de Rohan which, once restored, will be open to the public.