French Consulate in New York City

2007 Grant of $100,000—New York Chapter

The French Consulate in New York was established in 1783 following the one in Philadelphia, first capital of the United States. In 1942, the offices of the “house of France” at Rockefeller Center were too small and the French government purchased this townhouse on Fifth Avenue, built in 1926 by the architects Walkers and Gillette. This new site was not used until 1952 due to the Second World War.

For over 50 years, the style of the townhouse, inspired by Parisian decorative arts from the early 20th century, has been faithfully preserved. The new décor pays homage to its splendid tradition.

The trompe-l’œil marble of the entrance hall reinforces the Italian Renaissance accent which is at its apotheosis in the Salon Rose, with a coffered ceiling, superb chandeliers, silk damassé fabrics, tapestries and majestic French windows giving on to Central Park.

The French Consulate in New York is a showcase for France in this vital American city.

Restoration of the Salon Rose ceiling and the Salon Vert windows.