We will be received at the Château de Condé by Aymeri Pasté de Rochefort for a private visit and lunch. Residence of the Princes of Condé, Savoy, the Marquis de la Faye, this château, whose sumptuous interior decorations were made by the most prestigious artists, Watteau, Boucher, Servandoni, Oudry, etc. is one of the jewels of French heritage. We will discover the decorations and collections of living rooms, bedrooms and salons. Following the visit we will enjoy lunch at the château.
The afternoon will be devoted to two prestigious sites at Château-Thierry. At The Memorial Church we will be welcomed by Bernard Guttinger, President of the Association of Friends of the Church. The Memorial Chruch was built in memory of the American soldiers who lost their lives on French soil in 1917-1918 during the second battle of the Marne – especially during the decisive battle of Bois Belleau in July 1918. Among them was the son of President Theodore Roosevelt. The unique iconography of the stained glass windows is a tribute to the decisive intervention of American forces alongside the Allies in the Great War in the name of freedom. The central window illustrates the famous phrase attributed to General Pershing upon his arrival in France: “Lafayette, here we are” and depicts Lafayette with French Generals Foch, Joffre, Pétain and Nivelle. FHS attributed a grant of $ 21,000 in 2016 for the restoration of stained-glass windows in the church, including the central window.
At the Hôtel-Dieu we will be welcomed by Curator Thomas Morel to discover this impressive site. It is one of 18 sites selected this year for support by the Heritage Mission chaired by Stéphane Bern. Founded in 1304 by Queen Jeanne de Navarre, wife of Philippe Le Bel, the Hôtel-Dieu presents an impressive complex resembling a 17th-century convent built on medieval foundations with a 19th-century hospital. From its foundation a community of nuns was assigned to care for the sick and the needy. The establishment enjoyed its golden age at the end of the reign of Louis XIV thanks to generous patrons who endowed it with sculptures, furniture and works of art. These works today constitute the heart of the museum’s collections. Pierre Stoppa, a Colonel from the Regiment of the Swiss Guards, along with his wife, enlarged the site calling upon the best craftsmen to embellish it. Their tomb was sculpted by Girardon and the gates of the chapel are the work of Robert Davesnes, known for the ironwork at the Palace of Versailles. We will also discover the magnificent 17th-century pharmacy.
Bus departure at 9 AM sharp
Meeting point : Place du Trocadéro (métro Trocadéro) between avenue Georges Mandel and avenue Paul Doumer
To enroll, please contact: firstname.lastname@example.org